Meet Roman, Oleksandra & Family

Meet Roman, Oleksandra & Family

Parents:
Roman & Oleksandra

Children:
Olivia (3)

Roman and Oleksandra emigrated from Ukraine in late 2015. When they first arrived in Winnipeg, they stayed with a friend before moving into their own place. Their current apartment is small with one room consisting of a kitchen-living area and two bedrooms. The apartment is located in the basement of the building with heat pipes running under it so, it is always too hot even with the heating system never turned on during cold winter months. Other than a few minor thefts in the building, the neighborhood is reasonably safe.

Both Roman and Oleksandra are taking English as a Second Language classes to improve their skills. Roman is employed as an installer at SRS Signs and Services Inc. Oleksandra is a trained biochemist who hopes to work in this field once her language skills improve. She currently stays home, raising her young daughter, Olivia.

Roman and Oleksandra are quite eager to start working on their volunteer hours with Habitat. Volunteerism is very important to them. They have volunteered at many Winnipeg festivals since their arrival in the city, with The Festival du Voyageur being among their yearly favorites. Through volunteering, they have made many friends and feel more connected to the community. They will serve as great ambassadors to the Habitat model.

Donate Now

Share This

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on Pinterest Share on Linkedin Share By Email